Happiness

One’s definition of happiness changes over time. It was different when we were younger, wild and free; and it will also be different as we are growing older.

When I was six, I entered Primary school and my form-teacher asked me what I want to have the most. Naively I answered, I want Happiness. She smiled and told me that Happiness will come to those who deserve it, naturally. And I, a little girl, tries to be that deserved person in the way I understood it. I earned 100 for¬†every papers, joined in Choir, etc… ; all that a kid would try in order to be rewarded with Happiness in return.
Me, of 18 years ago, wanted to be the most deserved kid to have Happiness.

At the age of 10, I stood in the very first turning point of my younger years – final exam for Primary school, so called Graduation. I asked my mother if she would be sad when I could not get good marks. I thoughts, good marks meant everything back then, meant Happiness. But surprisingly, she said, she just needs us all (me, my sister and my father) stay healthy, that’s enough for her.
Me, of 12 years ago, made a promise to myself to stay healthy, at least, because that makes my mother happy. Happiness is when I see my beloveds happy.

15 years old, I was at the moment when the little fish became a dragon – High school exam entrance. As all friends of my age, I also applied for those Elite schools in town, those for Gifted students. I failed to get in the school I wanted, by a thin line. I broke down because my designated goal was not achieved. But after a while, my new friends and the new environment were rather great enough to ease my sense of losing.
Me, of 8 years ago, realized that Happiness is when I stand up and carry on after failure. When a door closes, a window at least will open. Instead of regretting the past, we should dive in the pleasure of present.

20, the prime of Internet Social network and the blooming advancement of technology simply brought different dimensions of happiness in me. It could be when my parents pillow-fought to get the iPad for Fruit ninjia or Farmville. Or it could be when I checked Fb notification in the middle of the night and saw “xxx liked your status” (xxx was someone close). And it could be a text message, neither from Service provider nor Scams nor Ads, but from an old friend asked me how life was.
Me, a few years back, feel connected to the world, feel happy.

My definition of happiness changes through time.
Happiness will come to those who deserve it naturally.
Happiness is when I see my beloveds happy.
Happiness is when I stand up and carry on after failure, bolder and stronger. Instead of regretting the past, one should dive in the pleasure of present.
Happiness is when I feel connected to the world.

And now, me of the new age, truly realized that some how, there lies one core principle to Happiness. The ultimate happiness is when one lives him or herself to the fullest. “What a man can be, he must be.” In this theater stage of life, no one lives you YOUER than You.

Posted on 25th September 2013, one day before my 23rd birthday.

Leave a Reply

